Posted in Uncategorized

best friend.

When I was in the fourth grade, my parents came to me with what I at the time considered to be the worst news I had ever heard. We were moving. Moving from our apartment in Long Island City, New York to somewhere in north Alabama. Being only 8 years old, I had no control over what my parents were going to do and I couldn’t stop them. I still don’t have control, but I think you understand what I mean. I was devastated. I had to say goodbye to my best friends at the time and to all of the things I had grown accustomed to in the big city in New York.
I feared moving to Alabama for many reasons. The first was the idea of living on a farm. For whatever reason, I completely stereotyped Alabama to be completely farm filled with people who fell under the most “redneck” persona.  I even asked my mother to buy some pairs of overalls for me to wear so I could “fit in” with the other students that I assumed would also dress this way. Another reason I feared moving to Alabama was the idea of losing my close friends. Sure, we agreed to keep in touch through letters and such, but it still seemed outrageous to me to leave them. Oh, on a side note, note I said “letters,” not emails. I didn’t really start using the internet until I was around 10-11 years old.
Anyway, back to moving. We moved to Alabama and found an apartment to live in and I was back in school after really missing only one or two days. I really had no true friends in the 4th grade beyond the friends I was keeping in touch with via snail mail. 5th grade rolled around and I made a few closer friends, but none of these handful of people really felt close enough to be considered my best friends.
Alas, middle school had arrived. 6th grade. I don’t remember the exact moment we met, but I know that I shared almost every class with who is now my best friend in the entire world. 6th grade. We clicked quickly thanks to our shared love of a video game: Kingdom Hearts. This game not only caught our interest but has continued to be a shared love of ours for the past 8 years. It may sound geeky/dorky/nerdy but, that’s just how we are.
Regardless, the point in this story is that today, May 30th, 2010, is my best friend in the entire world/galaxy/universe’s birthday. I’m exceptionally proud to call her my best friend and feel I owe her so much gratitude for everything she has ever done for me and for just being who she is. We have certainly been through a lot of fun times, shared many memories, taken thousands of pictures, written hundreds of parodies, and continue to share all of this along with endless hours of laughs. I don’t know what I would do without her and I just wanted to take the time to say this. I know there is much more I can say about my best friend, but as time continues to fly at us, I’m sure all of you blog readers out there will eventually get to read more. Thanks! ❤

In response to comment questions:
Q: How exactly did you pass that “I want to go back” to high school stage, and how does staying home cause you to realize how much leaving high school had a positive effect on your life?
A:  As I got more comfortable with leaving home and college and as I discovered that there is so much more out there in this world to be discovered beyond high school, I realized that as much as I may have wanted to go back to high school, I couldn’t. I wanted other things much more. Things like travel, diplomas, jobs. I want to see the world and do so much more with my life that only leaving high school and continuing to pursue my goals and ambitions with college and life will lead me to. In response to the second half of your question, what I meant by that was more targeted towards these past few weeks since I’ve completed my first year in college. I’ve noticed that although I may have left behind a lot when I graduated, I have gained so much knowledge and had so many experiences in this past year alone that I don’t want to go back to high school. I want to continue to move forward in life and keep experiencing amazing things.
Thanks for asking!

3 thoughts on “best friend.

  1. Congratulations for making me start to cry. ❤ Thank you, Ashanka. I love you so much. You're my best friend in the world/galaxy/universe. <333 I don't think I'll ever be able to fully express how much I respect you and value our friendship.
    I love you!!

  2. Live on a farm? Really, Ashanka? XD
    Awwww. 😀 This is sooooo fantastically sweet! :]]]]]]
    I love friendship. 😀
    Happy Birthday, Jordan! <333

Leave your thoughts!

