Posted in Undoubtedly

blood and karma.

There are several things I could never do in life. I’m not being pessimistic, I’m being realistic. Sure, I may have the work ethic and good gain skill to do these few things, but I just… can’t. What types of things am I talking about? Well, for one, I could never be a medical doctor. Over my life I have quickly learned that I personally dislike doctor’s offices, needles, and the sight of other people’s blood. I also can’t stand the sight of organs or other such things. It just makes me feel sick to my stomach.
Blood particularly is a weird thing for me. I don’t mind the sight of my own blood, I mean, sure, I panic briefly [or longer depending on the amount] when I see it, but I can handle it a lot better than say, my mother’s blood. If I ever take my mom to the doctor and she has to have blood taken for whatever thing, I can’t watch. I can’t even watch when I get a shot. I always just grip something tightly with my free arm and look away/close my eyes until it’s over. Also pushes towards the reasons why I personally don’t find myself donating blood anytime in the near future. Yes, I’ll admit. When it comes to blood, needles, and other such things, I am indeed a wimp.
Today was one of those days where I debated about what to blog about. One of those days where many thoughts are encompassing my head. This may partially have to do with the fact that I have two chemistry tests tomorrow and I have been drained in Chemistry all day and when my mind ventures out of it for a mental break now and then, it goes crazy. It is as though when I am studying, my mind attempts to push everything but my Chemistry aside so I can focus. When I stop for a moment to use the restroom or get some water, etc., my mind takes a deep breath and releases the tons of things it’s been pushing aside all at once. I don’t know if that made sense, but that’s how I picture it.
Regardless, today I experienced a moment of something I believe heavily in: karma. During my lunch break, I had a lot of extra time and had gotten the practice questions from my professor so I could work on them before class since I finished early yesterday and didn’t get them like everyone else did. While I was working, a man who I believe to be one of the professors in the building [not that that matters] came by to get a snack from the vending machine I was sitting beside. He looked around at the five of us sitting in the lobby area doing various things for various classes and out loud asked “What’s the healthiest thing for me to eat?” I immediately replied “crackers,” just because, well, personally I find them to be the healthiest in those vending machines. He thought it over and ended up choosing the Wheat Thins Veggie Crisps that were in the machine. For whatever reason, the wheat thins line was messed up and he ended up getting two bags out of the vending machine. He then asked out loud “anyone want some crackers?” and no one in the room replied and he stuck them next to my paper and said “Merry Christmas” and left. Karma, for those of you who don’t know, is loosely defined as “if you do something good, something good will return to you.” In relation to my story, I gave a man advice and I got a bag of wheat thins to add to my lunch for tomorrow. I understand this is not a strong example of the effects of karma, but a little good karma is better than any bad. Now I must return to my chemistry books for the remainder of the evening and hope that good karma comes back to me tomorrow in the form of two As. =D

4 thoughts on “blood and karma.

  1. tl;dr.
    Just kidding.
    I want to have some epic thing to reply to such a long post now, but now you have me craving Wheat Thins. Curse you. My stomach is growling at me right now. I can’t believe you would do this to me, Ashanka. How dare you. If I had been next to those machines and felt this craving I feel right now I would have jumpkicked that man for the spare Wheat Thins.
    Oh, but we’re talking about good things and karma. … In that case, I would have told him I was going to kick him in the gut before I did.
    Does that make me a good person?

  2. I’m kind of confused by this entry. Are the two topics of interest (blood and karma) related in any way? I know you said you were drained from Chemistry and your mind was wondering and what not, but I just didn’t see how these two topics got thrown together. XD

    Nice job anyway around it though. Always interesting to read. 🙂

Leave your thoughts!

