Posted in Uncategorized

calculus.

I’m not talking about the math subject I never really took. This has nothing to do with math actually. The calculus to which I am referring is what they call the buildup in one’s teeth over a period of time. The reason I bring this up is because today I went to the dentist for the first time in a long time. I don’t particularly have anything against the dentist, it’s just that my family tends to not go to doctors and such regularly. But as I said, today I went to the dentist. The main dentist that stuck her latex gloves into my mouth and scraped at my teeth for half an hour was a woman. I don’t know her name, but I know she has blue-green eyes and wore glasses. Also, her gloves seemed to get warmer and warmer after every spit break she gave me. It was odd. Also, latex gloves just taste odd in general. Today I realized that one of my pet peeves is definitely the sound I hear when someone scrapes the inside of my teeth. Even if it’s me by mistake with a fork, I just can’t stand that noise. I’m quite glad I’ve never had a cavity. I can only imagine what a drill in my mouth would sound like.
Today I was told I have wisdom teeth. Currently only two are beginning to peek out but apparently do not have enough room to grow out and meet my mouth. Therefore, I need to have my wisdom teeth removed within this year. I don’t know when it’ll be but it is either going to be after my birthday or during my Christmas break. Either way, it’ll be a form of surgery. Surgery. Something I’ve never experienced before. Heck, I’ve been fortunate enough to not have broken a bone yet. I’m not exactly nervous about it, but I don’t really know how to describe how I feel about it. I know that I very much dislike needles and shots. I’m not a fan of knives either, so being cut open in any form is not something I’m a fan of. According to my dentist they will have to make a “small incision” to be able to remove my wisdom teeth. As of earlier, I decided to choose the “sleep” version of the procedure. I will be knocked out. Thank goodness. I don’t think I would be able to stand having to watch them attack my mouth for however long. I’m not exactly looking forward to the aftermath because I feel it will be almost a week of my life where I may not remember too much for I expect to be heavily medicated and probably filled with various amounts of pain.
In addition to the fact that I discovered I truly dislike my teeth being scraped, I want to add that I particularly dislike forks doing it. I hate when I’m enjoying some amazing meal and suddenly I bite the inside of my mouth or touch my eating utensil to my mouth in a painful manner. Not fun. Also, I /really/ hate the sound of a fork scraping a plate. Perhaps one of my biggest pet peeves. With that said, I hope that all of you have pleasant days lacking of things such as fork scrapings, dental drills, and surgery. πŸ˜€

One thought on “calculus.

  1. Ashanka,
    I just wanted to let you know that your blogs are always one of the many highlights of my day. They seem so random, but are always so relevant to your experiences each and every day. Your word choice makes me laugh. Thank you for adding joy to my life.
    <3333

Leave your thoughts!

