Posted in Uncategorized

dear saint valentine:

It is 3:15 in the afternoon on your little holiday and I can’t help but notice that I have hardly seen the people that I want to give my heart to on this day. In fact, there are a few people that own a piece of my heart that I won’t be able to see at all and hope to just share a few texts and/or phone calls with. Is this a sad situation? Am I sad? No. Not at all. In fact, this is perhaps one of the best moods I’ve ever been in on Valentine’s Day.
Actually, the last time I had a Valentine’s Day as lovely as this one was a few years ago when I spent the entire day with my best friend in the park. That was a day I will never forget. The weather was perfect throughout the entire day. My best friend and I found “Narnia” in that park and took a countless number of pictures that I still look at every so often and just smile at the thought of that lovely day.
I can’t really remember what I was doing last year on Valentine’s Day. I find it rather odd that this entire thought has escaped me. I hope it wasn’t something significant that I should be remembering, but I honestly cannot recall. This year, I have spread my Valentine’s Day celebration over the course of a week. Sort of. Just little things every day that have made me smile a little more and remember all of those that I care about deep in my heart and how much I truly love this people. And although I may not have seen or talked to many of these people thus far today, the day is still young and my phone battery is full.
I also want to point out that I find it rather sad that those that claim that Valentine’s Day is only a happy occasion when they have a person to share with don’t  realize that it’s not just about that significant other. It’s about love in general. I mean, is it set in stone that you must spend the day with your significant other today? Why can’t it just be a love the world more than usual day? And I’m sure the response to this situation would be “Oh but you have someone to celebrate with, you can’t say you how to feel otherwise.” Well, friend, you are wrong. This is my first year having a person that many would call “a significant other” to share this day with. In the past, I have always enjoyed Valentine’s Day because of the happy thoughts and feelings it brings. I love my family and friends. Those people will always have a place in my heart and nothing can change that. And those are the people I think about most on this day. So to those that are depressed and unhappy about not having a “significant other” to share today with, just remember, you have yourself and people that care about you. Think about it. Love is everywhere and not confined to a single person. Or well, I think so anyway.
After all this talk about love and Valentine’s Day, I must conclude by simply saying, Happy Valentine’s Day. I love you. ❤

Sincerely, with love and hope that your day is filled with as much happiness as mine,
Ashanka

Leave your thoughts!

