Posted in Uncategorized

mental coaching.

Sometimes I’ll find myself in a mood that I dislike. Everyone has these moments. Those moments where you are just too mad, sad, stressed, etc., for words, actions, etc. In these cases, I generally weigh out pros and cons in my head and reevaluate where I am. I’ll mentally ask myself “Where are you?” “What are you doing?” “Why are you feeling this way?” “Is there a way to make this feeling go away?” “What’s causing all of this?” “How can this get better?” and other similar questions. Sometimes I learn that the solution to whatever the mood issue is may be impossible to achieve. In this case, the best solution for me is to generally just change the way I was originally doing things. Change my routine or something of that sort. Do something different.
So where am I getting at in all of this mumbo jumbo? Mental coaching. It’s like training yourself to do something different from what you normally do. I find it effective even when it may take a lot of repetition. Sometimes I find myself thinking “You can do it” over and over kind of like the little engine that could. When I think this way enough, I find myself empowered, in a sense.
This concept of what I call mental coaching that I’m attempting to explain may be a little confusing. The gist is, think differently. Not negatively. Just differently. Be like that little engine. “I think I can, I think I can.”

Leave your thoughts!

