Posted in Uncategorized

nostalgia.

This past week, my cousins from Canada visited and stayed with my family. Their family (my mom’s sister’s family) consists of three children ages 15, 12, and 8, their parents (my uncle and aunt) and my grandmother also accompanied them. Because my brother was out of town, I was left to take care of the three kids alone. My parents handed me some money and essentially told me to just take them out day after day.

This week, I went to the movie theater and watched Monte CarloΒ which is a PG movie that the kids loved. (I thought it was pretty cute myself.) I also went to Chuck E. Cheese and watched a lot more Nickelodeon than I normally do.

My point in this is, all of these things made me feel much older than I have ever felt before. I can’t believe I am turning 20 years old in less than 2 days. 20. That’s 2 decades of time that I have been fortunate to live through. So many amazing memories. I’m halfway through my undergraduate career in college.

My birthday plans consist of a dinner outing tomorrow evening and then the final Harry Potter movie on my birthday. I decided that the best way to celebrate my birthday was to end my childhood with my teenage years by seeing my favorite book series end in its film form. The series has been one of my many obsessions since I first picked up a copy of the third book when I was around 10 or 11 years old I believe. Yes, I started them out of order, but I definitely have read them many times since! I plan to reread the series many more times in the future!

Today we had our internet and phone service changed to match our cable service. Comcast. I now have xFinity and On Demand services. In the On Demand section, there are many old television shows that I used to watch a lot when I was younger and still watch today when I can find them. Today I watched episodes of Doug, Hey Arnold, Dexter’s Laboratory, Pokemon (the first season), and the Powerpuff Girls, among others. I also watched a large amount of Spongebob.

The amount of nostalgia I have experienced this week is almost overwhelming. I can only imagine what it will be like in another decade. It’s crazy to think that 20 years of my life have passed by. Like the end of the Harry Potter saga, it is all bittersweet.

Leave your thoughts!

