Posted in Uncategorized

thank you, mr. jobs.

People die. It’s a fact. Some may argue that some people die too young. I agree with this fact. People are fortunate if they get to see their 80s, 90s, and beyond. I think we are fortunate to just be able to wake up each morning and see the next day.

When the deaths of famous people are presented in the news, I find myself reading their biographies online and taking a personal look at the things they contributed to our world and why their death is relevant. Yesterday, co-founder, chairman, and former CEO of Apple Inc., Steve Jobs passed away. To say he was an innovator is just a start in describing how much this man contributed to our society in his 56 year lifetime. Personally, I cannot imagine a day without one of his inventions–the Apple iPod. Likewise, I know of many people who seem to be attached to his other creations like the iPhone, personal computers, and iPad. To think of what life would be like without these technologies today is mind boggling.

Normally I’m not the type of person to overly comment upon a famous person’s death, but I think this one deserved a lot of my time. When I first learned of the death of Mr. Jobs, I was definitely upset. Although I’m not the biggest fan of Macintosh computers and technology (in fact, I’m an avid Windows user who loves that technology), I do applaud the way they run and how they have changed our perspectives of a technology interface. I also think that the way various iProducts have changed the way people communicate and organize their lives is definitely an accomplishment worth celebrating. Some even say that Steve Jobs was a sort of Thomas Edison of the modern day.

I think where I’m getting at in all of this rambling is just basically: Thank you, Mr. Jobs. Your contributions to our world have definitely changed the way we exchange and use information in our daily lives among other things.

“[Y]ou can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something — your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. This approach has never let me down, and it has made all the difference in my life.” -Steve Jobs

Leave your thoughts!

