Posted in Undoubtedly

rapunzel.

Regardless of their typical, predictable, happy endings, I’ve always enjoyed fairy tales.  I think every child has a fairy tale character they can relate to. For me, it’s always been Rapunzel. Sure, I don’t have crazy, long, blonde hair or am locked away in a tower in the middle of nowhere, but I’ve always felt a connection with this story.

Although my hair was never as long as the fairy tale character, I always had longer hair as a child. Even today, my hair is fairly long. My hair is also something I care for a lot and is my strongest physical attribute, in my opinion. I brush my hair several times in a day and tend to wear it naturally most often. I have never even thought about dying it because I truly love its natural color. I love playing with my hair and wearing it in different styles, and especially having it braided.

I may not have ever been locked up in a tower, but I was always very sheltered. My parents were always kind of strict about letting me go out (they still are occasionally) and I, therefore, never really got to experience some major childhood things like sleepovers at someone else’s house – my first was in my senior year of high school, I believe, though I did have several at my own house in my earlier high school years. Along with this, I never really got to go to the movies. When I was entering my junior year of high school, I had only seen three movies in theaters – Chicken Run, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, and Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – but by the end of high school, I had finally seen several others. With that said, I spent a lot of time at home reading, watching television and doing homework. There are days where I wish things were that simple again, but I have gotten so used to the complexities and outside fun in life that I wouldn’t give it up for the world. I guess when you don’t realize something exists, like the joys of leaving your home, you don’t miss them.

I’ve always liked Rapunzel. I even loved Tangled, Disney’s version of the fairy tale. I felt that the way they represented Rapunzel as a sassy, independent, funny, and somewhat ditzy girl was very much like the way I always pictured her as a child. What fairy tale character do you relate to?

Leave your thoughts!

