Posted in Undoubtedly

five books.

I love to read. It’s a basic fact of my life. I also love to share. Today I’m going to share ten books that I recommend others to read. I know many, like myself, are working on summer reading lists and things like that, so I wanted to offer a selection. These books are in no particular order; they are just ten books I think others would enjoy reading along with some brief comments on my part. I’m avoiding summarizing books because I hate giving details of stories away. Besides, reading a book is the best way to know the story, spoilers are no fun.

1. The Autobiography of Malcolm X as told by Alex Haley. I read through this book twice in the past semester for a class and used it as a basis for a paper. The life and ideas that Malcolm X expresses in his narrative are ones I think many would enjoy reading. Although I don’t wholly agree with everything he says or does, I thought his life was intriguing and an interesting look at a religious awakening/conversion. It’s neat to see him evolve from one type of person to a complete different.

2. The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen. This book is not only a New York Times best seller, but it’s also one of those stories that sticks with you. I’m a sucker for romantic teen fiction, I’ll admit. Sarah Dessen’s writing has always been one of my favorites to read. She has written several books but none of them have ever stuck with me as much as this one. I always find myself turning to this book when I’m need of a good, light piece of fiction. It’s a quick read as well.

3. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins. This is the second book in the Hunger Games trilogy, so I recommend reading the first, first. This was my favorite book in the trilogy which is not normal for me because generally I find sequels to be lesser versions of the originals. In this case, I was no disappointed by the sequel. I loved the world that Collins created for me and I found myself flipping pages rapidly trying to get to the end of the story to learn what happened. I read this in less than a day (though I read the whole series in three days) and absolutely loved it. Also, the movie comes out next year, definitely worth reading the book before seeing the movie.

4. Hush by Mark Nykanen. Although several books exist with this title, I remember first picking this book up in 7th grade with no clue of what I was going to read. As a seventh grader, this book was filled with several mature themes that I was not picking up on. In my senior year of high school, I picked the book up again and reread it and picked up on a lot more things. I recommend this book if you are interested in any kinds of psychological thrillers. This book has some sick moments, yes, but the story is interesting to unravel.

5. Panic by Jeff Abbott. I remember checking this book out of the library sometime in my senior year of high school. It was a random day where I decided I was going to pick various books without giving the cover more than a mere glance, to see if I could find something to spark my interest without judging the book by its cover. This book definitely did that. If this book were converted into a movie (I’m not sure if it is), I feel like Matt Damon could easily star in it. The plot line is very action/adventure, if that’s your thing. I do suggest, however, avoiding reading it in a creepy hotel like I did for potential nightmares may ensue.

 

I hope you enjoy reading these books as much as I did! I am always happy to recommend books, but at the same time, I love increasing my reading list as well. So, for today’s comment section, please comment with your opinions on my recommendations and recommend additional books for me to read! That would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Leave your thoughts!

