Posted in Undoubtedly

growing up.

Less than a month ago, I finished my third year of college. I can’t believe it’s already been three. A week from tomorrow I will be getting on a plane and flying to Barcelona, Spain. A day after I land, I begin my first internship experience. Even though I’ve had months to prepare mentally for this trip, it’s still unreal.

Yesterday, I watched my one and only brother graduate from high school. In the past few weeks I’ve been going through lots of old photo albums while helping organize some things in our house. After seeing hundreds of pictures of my brother as he was getting older, I have noticed how much he’s grown. Just looking from my graduation pictures to the ones we took last night I saw even more growth. In a few months, he will begin his college journey and join me at the University of Alabama. I can’t begin to express how proud I am to be his sister – he’s a really great young man. As any pair of siblings, we’ve had our arguments in the past, but we’ve always moved past them and on to words of much more importance. I’m incredibly fortunate to be apart of my family and even more grateful to have such a wonderful brother. I know that regardless of what he will pursue in the future, he will continue to be successful. Congratulations on graduating from high school!

I’ve also been watching as many of my friends grow. Several of them have jobs and some are even married now. It is absolutely unbelievable to me how much time has passed. As I watch statuses on Facebook announcing graduations from high school and college, couples getting engaged, married and friends getting their first real jobs and internships, I am always astounded. I know it was bound to happen eventually, this growing up thing, but sometimes I just have to sit back and remind myself that this is truly real life and I am incredibly happy and fortunate.

One thought on “growing up.

Leave your thoughts!

