Posted in Undoubtedly

barcelona intern.

June 3, 2012. It seemed so far away in December and now it’s less than 2 days away. In a few hours I’m going to go and buy a few final things for my trip and begin packing. The good thing about going abroad is that I can’t take my whole life with me like I do when I go off to college each semester. I’ve been doing some research on the country and have made a short list of things I want to do/would like to do while I’m in Barcelona. I’ll be there for 7 weeks so I’m sure I will many opportunities to do some of these things.

Am I scared? Perhaps the most repeated question I’ve received in the past few weeks, well here is an answer. I think I’m more anxious than scared. Sure, I’m nervous that all of the study I’ve done of the Spanish language these past few weeks to rework my former knowledge may not have been enough and I’m nervous about meeting my new host family and co-workers, but I believe I’m more anxious than anything.

I’m anxious to begin a new journey. Anxious to finally start applying some of the knowledge I’ve gained in space outside of Alabama. Outside of the country.

Fortunate. That’s what I always tell people I am when they tell me that they are proud of my achievements or that they are excited for me and this trip. I’m fortunate. Secretly, I have always dreamed of working for a fashion magazine ever since I saw the movie The Devil Wears Prada and was obsessed withย America’s Next Top Model. I was never sure if it would be a reality, but, I have been incredibly fortunate with my placement.

This summer I will be interning at Barcelona Deluxe, a luxury and living magazine with a special emphasis on fashion. I don’t know what my exact tasks are, but I have been told they will involve writing, translating, and collaborating with other workers. I can’t wait to see what a Spanish magazine office is like and I really can’t wait to be a part of that atmosphere.

Last summer, I studied abroad in Florence, Italy and as part of my adventure, I kept a daily blog. This year, I am doing the same, but am also going to try to incorporate more pictures actually into the blog rather than just on Facebook/through a Flickr widget. I am also going to attempt to shoot some film footage and upload them to my YouTube page which will be accordingly linked to the blog. It may not look like much yet, but for those who are interested, you may follow my adventure at http://barcelonaintern.wordpress.com.

I can’t wait to begin filling my blog with entries about my trip. I will post a prethoughts entry tomorrow and begin regular posts after I land in Barcelona! I hope you enjoy reading/following my adventures in Spain!

Leave your thoughts!

