Posted in Undoubtedly

letters to earnest.

This was something I wrote for my Creative Writing class. Feel free to leave a comment letting me know what you think! I would love some criticism.

Letters to Earnest

Dear Earnest,

Remember that time we climbed the rocks by the high school when I slipped and fell? I still have that scar on my knee. Remember how afraid we were? We thought we’d get caught and when Mr. Tinders walked out and saw us, but he didn’t even get mad. I guess he was too concerned about my leg.

You should have seen her today, Earnest. She had on this really pretty yellow and blue dress. Her Listerine-green eyes still sparkle every time I look at her. I wish you could see her again.

I dreamt about the woods last night. I never want to go there again but I think will have to soon. I know you wouldn’t approve, but I don’t see any other way.

Love,

James

Dear Earnest,

Today I was thinking about colors. Have you ever wondered who named the colors? What if someone had named blue, glaze or something and we said the sky was glaze? But then I guess that stuff we put on meat would be called something else… like blue.

She wore that red dress you liked so much today. You know? The one with the ruffles in the front that accentuate her dark hair. I remember what you said the first time you saw her wearing that dress. “It looks like she had bloody, cotton candy on her chest.” I thought it was hilarious.

I dreamt about the woods again last night. This time I was standing by that tree where we saw that fox. What a pretty sight she was. I really wish I could have taken her home, but I remember you said that she was at home, there in the woods. Maybe I’ll see her again the next time I’m there.

Love,

James

Dear Earnest,

I got really mad at my sister today. I actually hit her and I regret it. I didn’t mean to physically assault her but she just made me mad. She was making out with her boyfriend in the basement again and I went down there to get my laundry out of the machine. She had taken all of my laundry out and tossed it on recliner in the basement because she needed to use the machine to wash her softball clothes. I shouldn’t have gotten as mad as I did, but something about the way she did it without telling me just irked me. I really wish I hadn’t hit her though, she didn’t deserve that.

I didn’t see her today but I texted her and asked her to go see me a movie with me Friday night. She said yes. I figured you’d want to know since you always tried to get me to take her out though I always claimed we were just friends. I guess I do like her.

I dreamt about the butcher shop last night. Knives frighten me, Earnest. I hate how shiny they can be and how in horror movies you always see that evil smile of the killer in the knife before they stab someone with it.

Love,

James

Dear Earnest,

I went shopping with my mom today. She misses you as much as I do. She said it was nice having you around cause you were practically a third son to her. She said she misses your appetite and how you’d always eat every last bite of anything she cooked. I guess that food just goes to waste nowadays.

I got a green shirt that matches her green eyes to wear Friday. I think she’ll like it. My mom said it brought out my brown eyes. Maybe I’ll look nice then.

I got my first pocket knife today. I saw it in one of the shop windows in the mall and I couldn’t help myself. I hate knives but this one had tools in it too so I figured it’d be handy.

Love,

James

Dear Earnest,

I got an A on my biology test and to think you thought I was the dumbest science student ever. I guess just because I didn’t know how to classify animals doesn’t mean I’m stupid at all biology.

I took her to see Titanic 3D tonight because I knew she would love it, which she did. Afterwards we went for a walk and got ice cream downtown. We walked some more and ended up in the woods. I saw that fox again. He ran away pretty fast this time.

I really miss you, Earnest. It’s weird not having a best friend anymore.

Love,

James

Dear Earnest,

Today a police officer came to my house and questioned my parents. I didn’t really understand why but they said they had reasonable suspicion. My mom started crying and my dad told me to go with the officer. He asked me a lot of questions and I didn’t know how to answer them. I think I have to go to court in a few weeks.

Love,

James

Dear Earnest,

I went to a mental doctor today. He told me I had anger issues and would have to go to some kind of rehabilitation center for it. I guess I do have anger issues.

They buried her beside you. It was really weird and I didn’t understand why but someone must have thought it was okay. I hope you have fun together. Maybe you’ll end up marrying her like I always kind of wanted you to.

Love,

James

 

4 thoughts on “letters to earnest.

  1. Ashanka – You kept me wanting to read more. As someone else said – you are already an excellent writer. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks for posting.

Leave your thoughts!

