Posted in Undoubtedly

April 2013 Birchbox: Tiny Tweaks, Big Results Review

April 2013 (1)I received my April Birchbox today and was excited to see it had a different look than usual. Around my usual brown Birchbox was a green cardboard label of sorts that advertised Women’s Health magazine, which Birchbox has paired up with this month for their “Tiny Tweaks, Big Results” theme. My expectation was nutrition and health products such as organic lotion and perhaps a small granola bar as I’ve seen in a box in the past. However, I was surprised by some of the items that were included. Here’s what I got in this month’s box:

April 2013 (3)
April 2013 (4)

April 2013 (5)

This month’s theme was “Tiny Tweaks, Big Results.”

Product details
(details taken from the Birchbox website)

Caudalie | Divine Oil
Caudalie’s unique blend of exotic oils—grape, hibiscus, sesame, and argan—joins forces with patented antioxidant grape-seed polyphenols to soften and moisturize skin while restoring the skin’s hydrolipidic (read: moisture) film.

Nexxus | Youth Renewal Rejuvenating Elixir
Moisture is your biggest ally when it comes to fighting the battle against breakage. This rejuvenating elixir is packed with some of nature’s best hydrators, including argan and soybean oils. Keratin and wheat protein add strength and shampoo commercial-worthy bounciness.

StriVectin | StriVectin-SD Eye Concentrate for Wrinkles
A patented molecule called NIA-114+ promotes the production of collagen and elastin, thus reducing the appearance of crow’s feet and the dreaded dark circles.

Youngblood Mineral Cosmetics | Anti-Shine Mattifier
The long-lasting, dense formula soaks up excess surface oil and imparts a flattering, soft-focus finish. Don’t be afraid of the balm’s nigella and pumpkin seed oils—rather than adding shine, they soothe, calm, and repair your complexion.

Beauty Extra Weleda | Body Lotion
There are four varieties to choose from. The Citrus Hydrating lotion imparts dry skin with moisturizing aloe vera, coconut oil, and sesame. The zesty scent comes courtesy of awakening lemon extracts. Made with organic pomegranate seed oil, the antioxidant-rich Pomegranate Regenerating lotion speeds up cell renewal and helps increase skin’s elasticity. The satiny Wild Rose Pampering lotion is made with rosehip seed oil and organic jojoba seed oil to keep skin soft and calm irritation. The creamy Sea Buckthorn Replenishing Body Lotion relies on a combination of organic mallow extracts, shea butter, and macadamia seed oil. Bonus: each nutrient-packed cream eschews artificial preservatives and parabens.

Review

I’m fairly pleased with this month’s box, but I didn’t think it really fit with the theme I was expecting by the athletic picture from Women’s Health magazine. There was a card inside the box that advertised a year’s subscription, but I’m not really interested in that magazine. I am, however, excited about the beauty extra Weleda body lotion packets. I love lotion and use it daily. The scents I received were “Sea Buckthorn,” “Pomegranate,” and “Wild Rose.” I will definitely be trying them soon. I am also intrigued by the anti-shine mattifier and StriVectin eye concentrate for wrinkles. I feel like I can easily incorporate those two products into my beauty routine to keep my face looking clear. All in all, still a great $10 value.

Share what you received in the comments section below!

Leave your thoughts!

