Posted in Undoubtedly

Strange.

It all happened so fast.

I remember taking a summer off three summers ago to celebrate graduating high school. This summer is my first free summer since then. Three summers ago I went to Canada twice, went to Bama Bound freshman orientation, read many books, saw Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince in theatres, and had a huge birthday party where I lost my camera and turned 18. I learned to let go of many things and, most of all, learned who my true friends were.

At the end of that summer, my grandfather passed away. My family packed our car up and drove back to Canada. I cried more that week than I did the rest of the year. The day we returned to Muscle Shoals from Canada was frantic. I remember throwing all of my things into boxes and bags, because I was moving to Tuscaloosa early the next day.

And that’s how my time at The University of Alabama began. Nine days ago, I completed my journey, and while I am thrilled to have two bachelor’s degrees with my name on them, it feels strange. It’s strange to think about moving away and starting anew. In three months (or less), I will be living in Lincoln, Nebraska and attending the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. I will be in graduate school.

I lived in a dorm room for the last four years. I’ll be living in an apartment or small house for the next two. What a strange thought.

I realize these changes are part of growing up. Don’t get me wrong, I’m very excited about my future, but sometimes it’s a little overwhelming.

IMG_3060

Over the last four years, I met hundreds of incredible people and went to more than a dozen new places including California, Texas, and Europe. I witnessed the devastating effects of nature and the triumph of a college town. I also lost a few friends here and there, but again, that’s life.

I learned early on that the worst anyone can say is no. Never be afraid to ask questions. I can proudly say I have been very successful and fortunate thus far in life. I’m almost 22 years old and have accomplished many things. I owe part of my success to my parents. My parents taught and continue to teach me the value of hard work. When I was little, my father gave me a piece of advice that I continue to follow: Always ask questions.

I’ve learned more from asking questions than from any book I have ever read. Most importantly, I learned that the worst anyone can really say is “no.”

So today, I have a few questions to ask you. I know I will learn more from my peers than from anyone else. Take a minute and leave a response with your thoughts on the following:

1. What’s the greatest piece of advice you’ve ever received?
2. Who are your role models and why?
3. What about your life today feels strange?

Thank you for following me on my journey from a scared college freshman (aren’t they all?) to the woman I have become today.

Leave your thoughts!

