Posted in Undoubtedly

May 2013 Birchbox: Birchbox Beauty Diaries

I got my May 2013 Birchbox a few days ago, opened it, but didn’t really get a chance to look at the items until today. For those that don’t know, Birchbox is a monthly beauty sample subscription service. Women’s subscriptions are $10 and men’s are $20. If you are interested in joining, visit the Birchbox website.

May 2013 (1)

This month’s Birchbox wasn’t really themed as expected, but judging by the products, I would give it some sort of summer/relaxation theme. Here’s what I got in this month’s box:

May 2013 (2)

May 2013 (3)

May 2013 (4)

May 2013 (5)

When I first opened this month’s box, I noticed the card was different than usual. This month, Birchbox is doing “beauty diaries.” It’s kind of like a simple mad libs related to the box. Here’s what it says:

“I always open my Birchbox in my __(place)__. The first thing I do is: __(verb)__. The sample I am most excited about is __(product and brand)__. I love the __(smell/look/idea)__ of the __(sample)__. I have to share __(product)__ with __(friend’s name)__.”

I will tweet my answers later today. (Follow me @LitaStarr).

Product details
(details taken from the Birchbox website)

Beauty Protector | Protect & Detangle
This paraben- and sulfate-free detangler seals the cuticles (the microscopic scales that compose the outermost layer of each strand of hair). It also smooths and moisturizes, thereby minimizing frizz, while safeguarding color and adding shine. Lastly, it provides protection against UV rays and heat. Happily, it accomplishes all this through a weightless, non-greasy formula that leaves behind an airy floral scent.

COOLA | Classic Face SPF 30 Cucumber Moisturizer for Face
Unlike chemical sunscreens, which can take up to half an hour to kick into effect, this ultra-light sunblocks start working right away. The skin-balancing formula features vitamin C-rich strawberry extracts to soothe and tone lackluster skin. Age-reversing antioxidants like evening primrose, acai, and linseed oils deflect free radicals, while naturally water-resistant plankton makes the formula extra-durable.

Isaac Mizrahi | FABULOUS Isaac Mizrahi Eau de Parfum
Bright opening notes of citrus, peony, and musk unfold to juicy middle notes of mandarin and nectarine. Top notes of smoky bergamot create depth, while jasmine sambac, tuberose, and peony add a touch of femininity. Warm base notes of vanilla, patchouli, and sandalwood complete the alluring mix.

Ruby Wing | Color Changing Nail Polish in Poppy
Formulated with SolarActive® Technology, each polish transitions from one shade to another as soon as you step out into the sunlight and come into contact with UV rays. Walk back indoors, and your nails will return to the original color. Each Ruby Wing polish is non-toxic, vegan, and environmentally safe

LIFESTYLE EXTRA Mighty Leaf Tea | Tea Pouches
If you’re in the mood for something sweet, turn to the rich Vanilla Bean, a full-bodied mix of Ceylon and China black teas flavored with exotic Madagascar vanilla. For a boost of energy, try the Green Tea Tropical, an uplifting blend of exotic fruits. To unwind after a long day, brew a cup of the Chamomile Citrus, formulated with Egyptian chamomile flowers and citrus fruit. The Organic African Nectar is a caffeine-free rooibos enhanced with tropical fruits and blossoms, while the Organic Earl Grey is a black tea blend with a hint of citrusy bergamot.

Review

I really like the COOLA moisturizer and am excited to try the color changing nailpolish (Mine in a poppy pink that is supposed to change into a shade of purple in sunlight). I saw the perfume sample and seriously thought: “Another perfume sample?” Maybe it’s just the type of person I am, but I rarely wear perfume. I’ll need to update my Birchbox page soon and hope to receive less perfume in the future. It’s nice, but I just don’t use it enough, which means the samples last a lot longer than intended (I guess that’s the benefit, right?) I’m indifferent to the “beauty protector,” but will definitely try to incorporate it into my hair routine here and there to see what it can do for my generally frizzy hair.

Share what you received in the comment section below! Or tweet @LitaStarr. I’m always curious about what others get.

Leave your thoughts!

