Posted in Undoubtedly

Making lemonade.

Since summer started, I have been trying hard to focus on positive changes. This summer was my first since I graduated high school that I had 0 plans for what I would be doing. In the past I have taken classes, studied abroad, and interned. While many advise taking the summer before graduate school off, I have always had trouble taking time off. For me, a week is often enough of a break.

So, I chose to make something positive of my summer. Since summer began, I have given up soft drinks and began the couch to 5k running program. Today I am proud to say I am halfway through the program, and though I haven’t lost a significant amount of weight yet, I feel healthy and more fit than I have in years.

Part of choosing to add running to my life is due in part to what is ahead. In the past, marching band has been my way of staying fit in the summer and fall semester. Since I won’t be marching anymore, I needed to find some way to keep in shape and stay healthy. I’ve never been much of a runner, but I figured I’d give it a shot. Using a program like couch to 5k has been a great way to follow a regiment and run with a purpose. To successfully make it to the next day means I am one step closer to completing the program, and that is a great incentive to keep running.

Along with making choices to benefit my health, I have also been working as a cashier regularly and saving money for my move to Nebraska. I’m proud of myself for sticking to my fitness and work routines and making my summer more productive.

But isn’t summer vacation about relaxing? Sure, it is, but 24 hours a day for three months is a lot of time to relax. I have been reading and watching more television than I do in a school year, while remaining productive and keeping my mind sharp for graduate school.

I think it’s important to balance relaxation with productivity. If I sat around and slept for three months straight, I know I would go crazy.

Today I wanted to document my progress and say that I am proud of myself for making it this far. Hopefully my work will start to show physically, but for now, I am happy with my progress.

What has everyone else been doing this summer? Share your thoughts/ideas/comments below!

Leave your thoughts!

