Posted in December 2013 Challenge

Favorite book

matildaIt’s really easy to get behind on these daily blog posts when I’m home for the holidays. This post is my makeup for day 21. The prompt I’ve chosen is #3: “Favorite book.”

As a person who genuinely loves to read as much as I can, picking a single book to dub as my absolute “favorite” is not an easy task; however, I can name the book that perhaps began my obsession with reading:Β Matilda.

When I first started reading chapter books, I discovered this book in my school library and instantly fell in love. Since then, I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve reread it. In fact, I’ve read all of Roald Dahl’s books several times and consider him my favorite children’s author. My other favorite of his isΒ The BFG.

Minus the horrible family life, I often thought of myself similar to Matilda. Reading was my obsession and my family often didn’t understand how I was able to spend hours sitting around with a book in my hand.

Today, I often still feel like Matilda at home. My brother doesn’t like to read and my parents still don’t understand how I spend so much time reading books, but none of this stops me from doing it.

Leave your thoughts!

