Posted in Undoubtedly

Reflecting on 2014 & 2015 Resolutions

2015Every year, I try to post some kind of “look back” post, and this year is no different.

2014 has been about growth in so many ways. I grew as a student, and began my journey as a teacher. I also met almost all of my 2014 resolutions: I lost and maintained a loss of 10 pounds, got into a conference (three), got published, and saw many more 6 a.m.s and few 2 a.m.s. The resolution I didn’t succeed in was trying to blog more, but as you loyal readers know, I rarely stick with that one…

As with any year, a few moments were tough. I spent the longest time without seeing my S.O. this year, which presented itself to be more challenging than I could have ever expected. I also struggled with the stresses of teaching, graduate school, and applications for doctoral programs all at once.

But 2014, overall, was a lovely year. I made several new friends who I am lucky to have in my life. My relationships with existing friends also grew stronger, which is so much more than I can ever hope for each year. Finally, I feel closer to my parents and brother than I ever have in my life. I love my family.

To those who helped make this year enjoyable — thank you.

For 2015, I want to make these resolutions:

  • I want to lose and maintain a loss of 10 more pounds. I feel the healthiest I’ve ever been this year, and I hope to continue to be healthier in 2015.
  • I won’t commit to blogging more this year, but I do want to commit to reading and writing more. Whether this writing be in a private journal or on a blog, I want to do more of it. I’d also like to read for pleasure more this year. I feel like I did not do that nearly enough in the last year. To help with this, I am going to participate in a few reading challenges beginning first with the Pop Sugar Reading Challenge. Check out future blog posts for more on these challenges.
  • I’d like to recommit to my happiness. I feel like I had several very down days in 2014 in which I really wasn’t happy and/or having trouble seeing the good things in my life. To assist with this resolution, I’m going to start with the #100happydays challenge through my Instagram account. Follow me on Instagram to see my progress and/or join the challenge with me!
  • Finally, I am going to try to take more time for myself to relax this year. I often feel that I have trouble not working on something and think it’s bad if I am taking time for myself. However, this thought process is unfair. It’s okay to take time for yourself, and this is something I will try to tell myself more often this year (within reason of course!)

These are my resolutions — what are your goals for 2015? How was your 2014? Leave a comment below; I’d love to hear your thoughts and opinions (and/or book recommendations! ;))

Leave your thoughts!

