Posted in Undoubtedly

Oven-roasted Aloo Gobi: A Recipe

Aloo Gobi (Potatoes and Cauliflower) is one of my favorite Indian food staples. I was raised eating this in the way that so many American children grow up eating macaroni and cheese. In short, it’s a comfort food. So with the semester quickly approaching, I wanted to go ahead and prepare some meals to have available after long days of research, class, and writing.

I’ve been wanting to try an oven-roasted version of this recipe for a little while now since the last few times I’ve made aloo gobi on a stovetop didn’t go as well as planned — long story short, I need bigger pots for the portions I’m cooking.

I read a few different versions of this recipe online and realized that it’s very similar to cooking it on a stovetop except you toss everything in all at once. I also decided not to add real onions or ginger in this version, but I may in the future. Onion and ginger powder are my friends too.

aloo gobi

Ingredients:
2 Russet Potatoes
1 Head of Cauliflower
1 tablespoon Oil (I used vegetable oil in this case, but olive or peanut oil works too)
1 teaspoon Salt (can be adjusted according to your tastes)
½ teaspoon Cayenne Pepper (I used a little more, because I love a spicy kick)
1 teaspoon Turmeric
1 teaspoon Cumin Seeds or Ground Cumin (I used seeds in this case, but either works fine)
1 teaspoon Coriander Powder
½ teaspoon Garlic Powder
1 teaspoon Onion Powder
1 teaspoon Garam Masala or Curry Powder of your choice (I used a McCormick brand Hot Madras Curry Powder I picked up at my local Kroger)
Fresh Cilantro for garnishing/final touches

Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time 20-25 minutes
Makes 2-4 servings

Steps:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
2. Peel and chop up potatoes into bite-sized pieces as well as chopping up the cauliflower head into florets.
3. Mix all of the dry spices into a bowl with a tablespoon or so of oil to create a sort of marinade – toss this with the potatoes and cauliflower into a baking dish. I would recommend washing your hands for this step and tossing the vegetables by hand to get them as evenly coated as possible.
4. Bake for about 20-25 minutes until you can easily cut through a piece of potato and cauliflower.
5. Let cool and sprinkle fresh cilantro on top to taste – bon appétit!

Leave a comment below and let me know what you thought of my version of oven-roasted Aloo Gobi!

Leave your thoughts!

