Posted in Undoubtedly

Oh 2015: A Reflection

new-years-day-1062608_960_720As I look back on this year, I am grateful. Despite some bumps along the way, this year brought so much good in my life.

Instead of my usual, rambly post going over the year, I have decided to switch things up this year and take @bravenewlady‘s lead to post three things that I am especially proud of this year, among the many other things I did:

  1. I said yes. In 2015, I made many major life decisions. I said yes to continuing my studies and pursuing a PhD. To that end, I said yes to the University of Louisville, a place I still feel was an excellent choice and enjoy. I also said yes to the man I love and got engaged. I also said yes to becoming more active and while I didn’t lose a bunch of pounds, I have been healthier this year than I have been in the past.
  2. I got an article accepted for publication. In February, I submitted an article titled “Yoü and I: Identity and the Performance of Self in Lady Gaga and Beyoncè” to the Journal of Popular Culture, and in August, it was accepted. I’m excited to see my work printed in the journal in 2016 and hopefully sending off another.
  3.  I read a lot of books. While I have always read many books each year, this year I set a goal of reading 50 books that I will complete at the end of today. This time last year, I committed to taking part in the PopSugar 2015 Reading Challenge. While I didn’t fill out all of the categories to meet this challenge (many of the books I read for school didn’t quite fit categories here), I did complete books that filled the following 29 categories (the book that I read for each category are listed below):
    A book with more than 500 pages – Mechanization Takes Command – Siegfried Gideon
    A book that became a movie – The Namesake – Jhumpa Lahiri
    A book published this year – Why Not Me? – Mindy Kaling
    A funny book – Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Own Autobiography – Neil Patrick Harris
    A book by a female author – What the River Carries: Encounters with the Mississippi, Missouri, and Platte – Lisa Knopp
    A mystery or thriller – The Rosie Project – Graeme Simsion
    A book of short stories – One More Thing: Stories and Other Stories – B.J. Novak
    A book set in a different country – The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo – Stieg Larsson
    A nonfiction book – The Essay: Theory and Pedagogy for an Active Form – Paul Heilker
    A book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet – Why We Broke Up – Daniel Handler
    A book a friend recommended – The Wallcreeper – Nell Zink
    A book based on a true story – Yes Please – Amy Poehler
    A book based entirely on its cover – Make Lemonade – Virginia Euwer Wolff
    A memoir – Food: A Love Story – Jim Gaffigan
    A book you can finish in a day – The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime – Mark Haddon
    A book with antonyms in the title – Then is Now: Sampling from the Past for Today’s Graphics – Cheryl Dangel Cullen
    A book with bad reviews – Junior – Macaulay Culkin
    A book from your childhood – Are You There God? It’s me Margaret – Judy Blume
    A book with a love triangle – Faking It – Elisa Lorello
    A book set in high school – Will Grayson, Will Grayson – John Green/David Leviathan
    A book with a color in the title – The House on Mango Street – Sandra Cisneros
    A graphic novel – Bound by Law – Keith Aoki
    A book by an author you’ve never read before – On the Edge – Allison van Diepen
    A book you own but have never read – An Ideal Husband – Oscar Wilde
    A book that takes place in your hometown – A Guide to Recognizing Your Saints – Dito Montiel
    A book set during Christmas – The Chimes – Charles Dickens
    A play – The Importance of Being Earnest – Oscar Wilde
    A book based on or turned into a TV show – (loosely) Modern Romance – Aziz Ansari
    A book you started but never finished – Fifty Shades of Grey – E.L. James

    In 2016, I hope to read 55 books and will be participating in PopSugar’s 2016 Reading Challenge as well as the Goodreads Around the Year in 52 books challenge simultaneously. I will continue to update my progress on my Goodreads page.

2015 has been a good year. I am eager to see what 2016 will bring and hope to continue moving forward through many goals. Here’s to 2016!

Leave your thoughts!

