Posted in December 2013 Challenge

Movies moments in my life

Hunger GamesHappy Friday! Today is day six of the 30-day blog challenge I have taken on this month. I’ve decided to write on prompt #2: “Favorite Movie.”

I have been thinking about this prompt since I first read the list of blog prompts, and I still can’t come up with one single answer. I love several movies, and I don’t think I could ever pick one ultimate “favorite.” But, I can pick some favorites based on various situations. So, today, I am going to list 5 different situations and a single movie that fits each situation in my life.

Clic1. My first midnight premiere – The Hunger Games: Shocker, right? I never went to a Harry Potter midnight premiere, as much as I wanted to, or Batman or anything. I was 20 years old, and two of my college roommates at the time, who had both read the books, wanted to go see the movie. So we got tickets to the midnight premiere, which meant I needed to read the books stat. Over spring break, a week before the movie, I read the book in a day, and I loved it so much, I read the rest of the trilogy over the next two. The second, Catching Fire is my favorite (I also loved the movie). Mean Girls

2. The first movie to make me cry – Click: Yes, that movie starring Adam Sandler. No, Lion KingWhere the Red Fern Grows, or some other sad movie never made me cry tears. Sure, they made me sad, but not the way Click made me feel. To this day, whenever I watch that movie, I break down near the ending during the scene with the father. I won’t say much more than that to avoid writing too much of a spoiler for anyone that may not have seen it, but watch the movie and tell me that part doesn’t kill you a little inside.

3. A movie I never get tired of rewatching – Mean Girls: It’s just so fetch. The limit does not exist when it comes to how many times I can rewatch this movie. If you’ve seen it, you should understand why it’s so quotable, rewatchable, and somewhat relatable. 

Chicken Run4. First movie I saw in a movie theater – Chicken Run: I was around 7 or 8 years old and I went with my brother and my dad’s boss’s wife. Long story short, I remember how different this movie was for me. I was going through a lot of inner emotions that day, but this movie provided a brief distraction. I remember how interesting I found the clay-mation style to be – I had not seen much of that style before. The story was also goofy and interesting, especially to a kid like I was at the time. I think I’ve seen it once or twice since I first saw it, but I will always remember it as my first visit to a movie theater.

book thief5. The last movie I have seen – The Book Thief: This was very recent. In fact, it was last night. I read the book over summer break, having no idea they were making it into a movie. I loved the book, and when I learned they were making a film, I was worried, as I always am about my favorite books being turned into films. This film did not disappoint me. I had a few minor quibbles, but the film was so stunning that I don’t focus on the so-called “problems” much at all. My favorite thing is how authentic they stayed to the book, German actors and all. If you need a good film to see while it’s cold outside, I highly recommend this one.

What are your favorite movies? Or answers to my scenarios? Leave a comment below; I would love to hear your thoughts!

2 thoughts on “Movies moments in my life

  1. Howdy! I know this is somewhat off-topic however I needed to ask.
    Does operating a well-established website like
    yours require a large amount of work? I am brand new to writing a blog but I do write in my
    journal everyday. I’d like to start a blog
    so I will be able to share my experience and thoughts online.

    Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers.
    Appreciate it!

Leave your thoughts!